If a significant error is found after a payroll has been processed, the process can be reversed, adjustments can be made and the payroll re-generated and re-processed. Completed funds transfers, however, cannot be reversed and therefore rolling back a payroll may lead to financial discrepancies requiring correction.


NOTE: Rolling back payroll is not a recommended practice and may potentially result in mismatching payroll and banking data.  All adjustments made during the selected payrolls will be lost and must be subsequently re-entered for every individual in every payroll. In a large payroll (or worse in multiple payrolls) this is a painful process. To avoid this situation, ALWAYS contact the support desk for assistance, before initiating Roll Back.


ClockOn payrolls can only be rolled back sequentially. The last payroll processed is the first payroll rolled back. Payrolls may be rolled back sequentially as many times as required.


Performing a Roll Back

  1. Select Payroll tab, Roll Back Payroll.
  2. The Payroll Roll Back screen appears. This displays the payroll range, number of employees, payroll ID and employee names (including Rule Sets).  
  3. Using the payroll drop down list select the appropriate payroll (The Roll Back date indicates the pay period that will become active after the Roll Back has been completed)
    NOTE: If only one employee needs to be rolled back, deselect the Include all Employees option then select the employee required to be rolled back. If multiple employees are required to be rolled back, use shift + left click to select these employees.
  4. Click Roll Back to start the process.
  5. A prompt will appear on screen asking “Are you sure you want to roll back the payroll”? Select Yes to continue.
  6. A Roll Back progress bar appears with additional text.
  7. Once Roll Back is completed select Close.