This allows a roster officer to design a roster in an unpublished state and when they are ready, click publish to both notify and make it visible to staff. Publishing and unpublishing can be done on whole rosters, a selection of shift and also on single shifts.
NOTE: The Publish Shift options will only be shown if the Publish Roster option is checked in System Setup. Also only employees with Can Publish enabled in their security role will be able to publish shifts (For more information see: Setting up Roster Publish
When published shifts is enabled in the system setup all new shifts added to the roster will be added as unpublished shifts
- Unpublished shifts are shown in the Roster work space as shifts with a Red border. Unpublished shifts will NOT create a time sheet in the system.
- Published shifts are shown in the Roster work space as shifts with a Black border. Once a shift is published it will create a time sheet in the system.
You can have a combination of both Published and Unpublished shifts in a roster. (For more information on viewing published shifts read: View Options - Published Shifts)
Publish and Unpublish Methods
Shifts can be published and unpublished through different methods.
- Using the Publish Shift button commands in the ribbon bar.
- Using the mouse with a right click.
Publish shifts using the Publish Shift button commands
The Publish Shift button commands are useful for their ability to easily publish and unpublish shifts in bulk.
- Publish Selected: Publishes all of the selected shifts
- Unpublish Selected: Unpublished all of the selected shifts
- Publish All: Publishes all shifts for the load roster period
- Unpublish All: Unpublishes all shifts for the load roster period
Publish shifts by right clicking a shift.
You can publish / unpublish a single shift (or a selected group) by right clicking a shift and selecting Publish or Unpublish.